Kellogg: board elects president and CEO as chairman

Battle Creek / MG. (kc) Kellogg Company´s board of directors has elected John A. Bryant, the company´s president and chief executive officer, as chairman of the board effective July 01, 2014. Current Chairman James M. Jenness will remain on the board as a non-executive director.

Bryant has been a member of the company´s board of directors since July 2010. He has been president and CEO since January 2011. Bryant joined Kellogg in 1998. Prior to becoming CEO, he held a variety of key senior leadership roles including chief financial officer, president of Kellogg North America, president of Kellogg International and chief operating officer.

«John has a deep understanding of all aspects of Kellogg Company´s business and a clear vision of how we will deliver on our strategy and grow our business around the world», said Jenness. «His election to chairman demonstrates the board´s confidence in his leadership».

Bryant also serves on the board of directors of Catalyst, The Consumer Goods Forum, Food Marketing Institute and Grocery Manufacturers Association. He received a degree from the Australian National University and an MBA from the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania.

Bryant succeeds Jenness, who has worked with and for Kellogg Company for 40 years. He has been a Kellogg Company board member since 2000. Jenness also served as the company´s chief executive officer from February 2005 until December 31, 2006. Prior to joining Kellogg, Jenness was co-founder and chief executive officer of Integrated Merchandising Systems LLC and served as vice chairman and chief operating officer of Leo Burnett Company.

«Everyone who encounters Jim immediately understands his deep commitment to Kellogg and his passion for our brands», Bryant said. «He has been a trusted mentor whose sound advice I value and respect. His guidance has been and will continue to be, invaluable to me and Kellogg. We are grateful for his leadership and look forward to working with him for many years to come».

Back to top